Young Conservatives of Texas (YCT) Press Release



March 17, 2014

Contact: Jenna White, Executive Director
Mobile: (512) 843-1980

Austin, Texas – Young Conservatives of Texas (YCT) had a successful primary, with all of its statewide endorsed candidates either making the run-off or winning outright. In contested Legislative races, endorsed incumbents defeated establishment-backed challengers and held their seats, while several YCT-endorsed challengers either defeated their moderate opponents, won an open seat, or are in a run-off.

“I am very pleased with how we fared in this year’s primary,” said Jeff Morris, YCT State Chairman. “We batted 100% in our statewide races, with each of them either winning outright or entering the runoff with a commanding lead. Conservatives reelected Rep. Perry, Rep. Stickland, and Rep. Schaefer while defeating Sen. Carona, Rep. Patrick, Rep. Ratliff, Rep. Gooden, and winning several open seats.”

The following are candidates YCT endorsed for the Primary and has re-endorsed for the Run-Off:

Lt. Governor – Sen. Dan Patrick
Attorney General – Sen. Ken Paxton
Ag. Commissioner – Hon. Sid Miller
Railroad Commissioner – Hon. Wayne Christian
SBOE 11 – Eric Mahroum

SD 2 – Bob Hall
SD 10 – Konni Burton

HD 10 – TJ Fabby
HD 16 – Ted Seago
HD 58 – Philip Eby
HD 66 – Matt Shaheen
HD 102 – Stefani Carter

Young Conservatives of Texas is a non-partisan organization that has promoted conservatism at universities across the Lone Star State for over three decades. The State’s most active political youth organization, YCT is composed of hundreds of members and alumni who participate in the full spectrum of politics. YCT issues the most respected ratings of the Texas legislature and is the only conservative group to have done so without interruption over the past 20 legislative sessions. For more information about YCT, please visit


A copy of this Press Release can be found on our websites.