Coalition of Conservative Organizations Press Release


March 10, 2014 832-233-4950

Coalition of Conservative Organizations Promise Aggressive Ground Campaign to Turn out Voters for Run-off Victory

ACROSS TEXAS – Energized from big wins across the state in the March 4th Republican Primary, a grassroots coalition of pro-family, pro-liberty conservative organizations and TEA party groups declared their intention to fight hard to deliver victories in the May run-off elections.

“The March 4th Republican Primary was monumental for the conservative cause. Voters sent a clear signal to the Austin political class,” said JoAnn Fleming, Executive Director of Grassroots America and two-term chairman of the Texas Legislature’s TEA Party Caucus Advisory Committee. She added, “Now, we are firmly committed and fully prepared to take an aggressive ground campaign into voting precincts across this state to turn out the vote to elect our constitutional conservative candidates.”

Jim and Robin Lennon of the Kingwood TEA Party noted that the overwhelming support of TEA Party conservatives Dan Patrick and Ken Paxton in Harris County will grow if David Dewhurst and Dan Branch revert to negative campaigning. “Look what happened the last two weeks of the primary, when Dan Patrick was under massive attack from negative ads. He went from trailing David Dewhurst to solidly defeating him. David Dewhurst is a true gentleman that has always done his best for Texas and we respectfully request that he step-aside or avoid repeating his negative campaigning tactics.”

The coalition’s candidates enter the run-off season with strong leads:

• Lt. Governor – Dan Patrick garnered 41% of the vote compared to David Dewhurst’s 28%;

• Attorney General – Ken Paxton came within 6 pts. of winning the Texas Attorney General race outright;

• Railroad Commissioner – Wayne Christian is the 12-point front-runner against Ryan Sitton;

• Agriculture Commissioner – Sid Miller has a 14-point lead on Tommy Merritt.

Previously joining forces to propel Ted Cruz to the US Senate, this coalition plans a strong run-off offensive to elect their candidates to statewide office.

Members of the coalition include:

JoAnn Fleming, Executive Director, Grassroots America – We the People PAC
Chairman, Texas Legislature’s TEA Party Caucus Advisory Committee
Robin Lennon – Kingwood TEA Party, Co-Founder/President

Jim Lennon – Kingwood TEA Party, Co-Founder
Dr. Julie Turner – Texas Patriots PAC, President

Kyle Scott – Spring TEA Party, President
Julie McCarty – NE Tarrant TEA Party, President

Fred McCarty – NE Tarrant TEA Party PAC, Co-founder/Treasurer
Bill Hussey – Llano Tea Party, Founder

Michael Berryman Smith – Tarrant County Grassroots Leader & Conservative Nation Media, Founder
Michael & Brandy Dougan – Dallas County Grassroots Leaders
Pamela & Tibor Prince – Dallas County Grassroots Leaders
Morgan McComb – Dallas County Grassroots Leader
Marc Moffitt – Denton County Grassroots Leader
Maggie Wright – Texas Patriots TEA Party, Past-President

Michael Openshaw – North Texas TEA Party, Co-founder
Jeff Morris – Young Conservatives of Texas, State Chairman

Michael Kinzie – TEA Party 911, Founder
Connie Curry – Lubbock County Grassroots Leader
Jeff Judson – San Antonio Tea Party, Senior Vice-President and Director

Toni & Tom Fabry – Frisco TEA Party, Chairman
Charles Lingerfelt – Dallas County Grassroots Leader
John Tweedell – TEA Team Texas, Founder

Anne Newman – Boerne Tea Party, President
Brad T. Underwood – The Surge, Co-founder

Carol Ann Preston – Denton County Grassroots Leader & Carrollton Conservative Republican Club, Co-founder and Past-President
Derek Baker – Collin County Conservative Republicans, President

John Cook – Kaufman TEA Party, Chairman
Rudy Cajka – Texas Republican Assembly, National Committeeman
& Robson Ranch Republican Club, Past-President
Chuck Molynaeux – McKinney TEA Party, Leader
& Texas Legislature’s TEA Party Caucus Advisory Committee, Member
Ted Hart – Frisco Lakes Conservative Coalition, President

Ruth Pharis – Hill Country TEA Party Patriots, Founder and President
Dawn King – Parker County TEA Party, President

Ray Myers – Kaufman TEA Party, Founder
Kathleen Wazny – Robson Ranch Republican Club, President

David M. Wilson – Cypress Texas Tea Party, Director
Organization List for Identification Purposes Only